top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePhoebe Cornish

The Pitch

Updated: Jan 24, 2021

After a few weeks of solidifying the concept of the project, the deadline for the pitch was released. The impact of Covid-19 in every aspect of life really shone through here, as the prospect of a zoom call to pitch my Major Multimedia Project really hit me. An assignment performed through a screen was something I really struggled to get my head around! It was (grassroots) music to my ears when we were invited to do the pitch on campus- even if it was just for three minutes!


The first step towards producing a captivating pitch was securing some interviewees. I wanted a range of perspectives to make up the voices of the documentary; ranging from established artists, to venue owners and student/ start up musicians. In addition to these personal stories, I was keen to speak to the Music Venue Trust from the start. This element of the project highlighted the first pandemic-related hurdle of the project: people either have very little or a lot of time on their hands in the current climate. I was hoping for the latter!


The pitch is a great chance for me to really sell the project. The main focus of the project is to look at the true cost of the pandemic on a community, people-focused industry. Grassroots music in this age makes up a large part of a lot of people's lives- whether we are conscious of this, or not. I wanted to really showcase the effect these venue closures and funding (or lack of), have had on individual lives, which play a part in the bigger picture.


Focusing on the Culture Recovery Fund was a great way in to the story. The more research I did into the topic, it became clear that an awful lot of venues local to me were relying on this funding to stay in business. If we allow grassroots venues to fail, we essentially eliminate a whole sub-culture of the music industry.


On the whole, my pitch went well and I feel I produced a strong presentation, with insight in to what would become of my major multimedia project. This was reflected in my grade and feedback as shown below:


Grade: 77%

"Phoebe, you showcased a confident delivery with great structure and preparation. You knew your audience well, having identified the platform and considered the style of their output.

Your thorough planning shone through, with a polished handout, well-rehearsed content and pre-interview quotes included in the delivery. Your list of secured interviewees was impressive with consideration for different sides of the story you will tell."

The first step towards producing a captivating pitch was securing some interviewees. I wanted a range of perspectives to make up the voices of the documentary; ranging from established artists, to venue owners and student/ start up musicians. In addition to these personal stories, I was keen to speak to the Music Venue Trust from the start. This element of the project highlighted the first pandemic-related hurdle of the project: people either have very little or a lot of time on their hands in the current climate. I was hoping for the latter!


The pitch is a great chance for me to really sell the project. The main focus of the project is to look at the true cost of the pandemic on a community, people-heavy industry. Grassroots music in this age makes up a large part of a lot of people's lives- whether we are aware of it, or not. I have wanted to really showcase the effect these venue closures and funding (or lack of) have had on individual lives, which play a part in the bigger picture.


Focusing on the Culture Recovery Fund was a great way in to the story. The more research I did into the topic, it became clear that an awful lot of venues local to me were relying on this funding to stay in business. If we allow grassroots venues to fail, we essentially eliminate a whole sub-culture of the music industry.


On the whole, my pitch went well and I feel I produced a strong presentation of my Major Multimedia Project. This was reflected in my grade and feedback as shown below:


Grade: 77%

"Phoebe, you showcased a confident delivery with great structure and preparation. You knew your audience well, having identified the platform and considered the style of their output.

Your thorough planning shone through, with a polished handout, well-rehearsed content and pre-interview quotes included in the delivery. Your list of secured interviewees was impressive with consideration for different sides of the story you will tell."




Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page