top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePhoebe Cornish

Interview No.4: Sully, The Four Horsemen

This interview was the definitive element in the documentary for many reasons. Not only was this my first face-to-face interview since mid-October, but it captured the essence of my ideas perfectly.


After speaking to Matthew Otridge at the Music Venue Trust in November, I was aware of the link between Matt's role as South-West Co-ordinator and the financial status of the Four Horsemen as a member venue of MVT- it was a no brainer to include the venue in the project.


After little luck in contacting the Bournemouth-based venue during the second national UK lockdown-(2nd November-2nd December), I jumped at the chance to go and visit the venue in person when restrictions eased into a three-tier system in early December.


After a successful chat with Sully- the owner of the venue, I had secured myself an interview for the following week. It was just my luck that the arranged date would fall on the night of one of the venues first live gigs since March, headlined by Brighton-based band, Benji Taylor and the Avocados.


The Four Horsemen were not eligible for the Culture Recovery Fund and as a result, are struggling to stay in business during these unprecedented times. Owner, Sully, spoke to me about the uncertainty of the venues future and how the lockdown had given him and the community a new appreciation for grassroots music.


When chatting to Sully, he spoke highly of the help he has received from Matt at the Music Venue Trust, adding that his venue was part of the #savethethirty campaign which they were running, in order to save the 30 venues, still in crisis.


One thing that was evident in my interview with Sully, was the value of his venue to both him and the community. He spoke of the importance of getting gigs going again at The Four Horsemen, which I got to see for myself that night. I was told of how his venue was one of the first in Bournemouth to get back out there in terms of offering live music (in line with COVID guidelines), and that the audience that had been coming to support these shows had taken this 'new normal' in their stride.


It was surreal to watch Sully set up the gig in the downstairs venue area; he had a tape measure to ensure a two-metre distance between each row of chairs, which would allow household-bubbles to sit together- away from other people.


I stayed after my interview with Sully, to catch Benji Taylor and his band at their sound-check ahead of their gig at the venue. After a brief chat with Benji and two of his band members, I quickly realised the extent to which COVID had damaged the financial security and confidence of grassroots musicians. Whilst many had turned to live streams on social media from March to December, the longevity of these restrictions had taken their toll on one of the key elements of being a musician: engaging with an audience.


I can safely say that this interview opportunity re-affirmed my passion and drive for the project, as I was re-assured that the topic was relevant. People needed to know more about the true impact of COVID-19 on the grassroots music industry, and I was on my way to doing just that.



3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page